Why Punjab, Haryana, Karnataka and Other States Observe November 1 as Formation Day

Bringing collectively India, a rustic with 28 states and eight union territories, wasn’t a simple job. Even after its independence, India has gone by lots of alterations and political amendments to this point. India has an unlimited political historical past, however November 1 holds significance and is called Formation day.

Throughout independence, India was divided into 565 princely states and these indigenous princely states believed in unbiased governance, which led to the institution of the States Reorganisation Fee in 1953.

Prime showsha video

On November 1, 1956, numerous Indian states, together with Madhya Pradesh, Haryana, Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh, Punjab, Chhattisgarh, Kerala and Tamil Nadu have been fashioned whereas Delhi, Lakshadweep, Andaman and Islands, Puducherry and Chandigarh have been introduced as Union Territories.

Listed here are the chronicles of the formation of those Indian states:


All of the Kannada-speaking areas of South India have been merged to type the state of Karnataka in 1956. The day has been listed as Kannada Rajyotsava Day as a authorities vacation within the state.

Andhra Pradesh

The state was fashioned after it was separated from Madras Presidency following a collection of agitations and sacrifices. The non-Telugu-speaking elements of Hyderabad state have been merged with Maharashtra.

Tamil Nadu

The state was fashioned after part of Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka and Kerala have been separated from Madras’s Presidency. The dying of Tamil scholar Okay Sankaralingana after a 75-day indefinite quick in October 1956 pushed the then administration to introduce the Linguistic Reorganisation of States in 1956 invoice and handed by Meeting. Nonetheless, final 12 months Chief Minister MK Stalin introduced that Tamil Nadu day might be noticed on July 18.


Kerala was fashioned by merging the three unbiased provinces of Malabar, Cochin and Travancore. The day is noticed as Kerala Piravi.

Haryana and Punjab

A decade later, on November 1, 1966, Haryana and Punjab have been created by splitting the province of East Punjab on a linguistic foundation.


As part of the Madhya Pradesh Reorganisation Act, the southeastern portion of the state was divided into a brand new state Chhattisgarh on November 1, 2000.

Learn all of the Latest Lifestyle News right here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *