UN member States, leaders welcome India, Ireland, Kenya, Mexico and Norway to UNSC

UN leaders and member States welcomed India, Ireland, Kenya, Mexico and Norway to the UN Security Council and mentioned they look ahead to working with the 5 new non-permanent members to assist advance peace and safety globally throughout their 2021-22 time period within the highly effective world physique.

Flags of the 5 new UNSC members had been put in on the Security Council stakeout on Monday throughout a solemn ceremony organised by the Kazakhstan Mission to the UN.

India’s Permanent Representative to the UN Ambassador TS Tirumurti put in the Indian tricolor on the ceremony and mentioned that as India assumes the membership of the Security Council for the eighth time, “it is an honour for me as the Permanent Representative of India to take part in today’s flag installation ceremony.”

UN member States and prime leaders posted congratulatory messages for the 5 incoming members, welcoming them to the Council for the 2021-22 time period.

“Welcome to the Security Council,” the UN tweeted.

President of the seventy fifth session of the UN General Assembly Volkan Bozkir tweeted, “I congratulate the new members of the @UN Security Council. I wish them success in their important work during the 2 years term, in support of global peace and prosperity”.

United Nations Under-Secretary-General for Political and Peacebuilding Affairs Rosemary DiCarlo mentioned she was trying ahead to working with the brand new Security Council members “to help advance peace and security globally.”

US Ambassador to the UN Kelly Craft tweeted, “A warm welcome to the new members of the @UN Security Council, @IndiaUNNewYork, @irishmissionun, @UnKenya, @MexOnu and @NorwayUN. I look forward to working with you in support of global peace and prosperity!”

The US State Department’s Bureau of South and Central Asian Affairs tweeted, “A new year brings new opportunities to strengthen relationships with old friends and partners. We welcome India to the @UN Security Council and look forward to working with @IndiaUNNewYork to advance our shared interests in a more peaceful, secure Indo-Pacific and world”.

The Permanent Mission of United Kingdom mentioned in a tweet, “Welcome India, Ireland, Kenya, Mexico, Norway to UNSC for the 2021-2022 term. We can’t wait to see half your faces”.

“As of January 1st, 2021, the @UN Security Council welcomes 5 new members! Welcome to India, Ireland, Kenya, Mexico, Norway,” the French Mission to the United Nations tweeted.

The Chinese Mission to the UN expressed “a warm welcome” to the incoming UNSC members in a tweet and mentioned, “New 12 months brings new hope. Multilateralism issues much more. China is able to work with you and different members for a peaceable and affluent world.

Senior Bureau Official for International Organization Affairs on the State Department Pamela Pryor tweeted, “It’s a new year filled with opportunities to build international peace and security. We look forward to working closely with newly-elected @UN Security Council members India, Ireland, Kenya, Mexico, and Norway for the 2021-2022 term!”

Ambassador Tirumurti will take part within the Security Council digital assembly on Syria on Tuesday which would be the first open UNSC assembly of India’s tenure that started on January 1.

Source hyperlink

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles