Lewis Carroll Death Anniversary: Here are Some of the Author’s Greatest Works

January 14, 2021 marks 123rd loss of life anniversary of English author Charles Lutwidge Dodgson also called Lewis Carroll. Lewis was born on January 27, 1832, in Daresbury, Cheshire, England.

Lewis was the eldest son and third baby of the Rev. Charles Dodgson and Frances Jane Lutwidge. He grew up in remoted villages within the English countryside together with his ten siblings. The author who gave the world a lot of muchness by considered one of his biggest works Alice in Wonderland went to Christ Church, a constituent faculty of Oxford University. Besides being a fascinating author, Lewis additionally excelled within the research of classics and arithmetic. He acquired a number of honours for his work in arithmetic and held positions as a senior scholar and a lecturer in Christ College.

Let us have a look at a few of Lewis’ biggest works:

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

This fantasy fiction was written for youngsters. The e book was revealed in 1865 and its illustrations have been performed by British artist John Tenniel. Alice in Wonderland is a narrative a couple of woman named Alice who falls right into a rabbit gap that transfers her right into a magical world of smiling cats, speaking animals and a elaborate tea celebration with the mad hatter.

Through the wanting Glass

A sequel to Alice in Wonderland, Through the Looking-Glass and What Alice Found There was revealed in December 1871 after the primary e book was well-received by the readers. This novel describes some extra adventures of protagonist Alice as she transfers to a different mystical world by a mirror. This world is dominated by some illogical behaviour, chess boards and chess items.

It can also be ultimately of this novel that we discover out who impressed Lewis to jot down this traditional. A ship beneath a sunny sky, the poem that comes on the finish of this novel is an acrostic that spells out Alice Pleasance Liddell, who was an acquaintance and pictures topic of Lewis.

The Hunting of the Snark: An Agony in Eight Fits

Published in 1876, this poem is sort of just like his earlier works by way of its nonsensical components. The poem is a couple of sea voyage of a bellman, boots, barrister, dealer, billiard marker, banker, beaver, baker, and butcher and their seek for the elusive and summary snark.

Sylvie and Bruno

This novel together with its sequel Sylvie and Bruno Concluded have been Lewis’ final novels. Sylvie and Bruno have been revealed in 1889. The e book took its readers to 2 totally different worlds, one actual and one other fantastical.

Sylvie and Bruno Concluded

The final novel of Lewis got here out in 1893 and has the standard writing fashion of the British author. There are fairies and different fantastical creatures in Elfland described on this novel. The novel traces the journey of two siblings Sylvie and her little brother Bruno.

Source hyperlink

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles