IPL 2021 Delhi Capitals preview: All eyes on skipper Rishabh Pant as DC look to go one up

Thrust into the management function, a totally remodeled Rishabh Pant carries numerous hope and accountability on his shoulders as Delhi Capitals goal to construct on the success of the final version within the UAE, the place they ended runners-up.

A strong batting line-up coupled with a potent tempo assault makes DC sturdy contenders this yr too.

Pant was handed captaincy every week again after Shreyas Iyer was pressured out following a shoulder damage, sustained through the ODI sequence in opposition to England final month.

Delhi Capitals have grown from energy to energy as they completed second runners up within the 2019 earlier than reaching summit conflict final yr.

Here is a take a look at the staff which can start its marketing campaign in opposition to Chennai Super Kings in Mumbai on April 10.


They are some of the balanced sides within the event with a formidable batting line-up and a potent tempo assault.

In Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw and Ajinkya Rahane, Delhi boast of a strong high order. Pant together with Marcus Stoinis and Shimron Hetmyer or Sam Billings will look to fill the outlet left by Iyer within the center order.

The addition of Steve Smith will additional bolster their batting.

Dhawan (618) was the second highest run-scorer in 2020 and appeared in good contact within the current ODI sequence in opposition to England with scores of 98 and 67.

Shaw too shall be itching to show his value after amassing 827 runs within the Vijay Hazare Trophy following his ouster from the Australia Test sequence and a dismal final season.

Pant has emerged as a match-winner for India within the current sequence in opposition to Australia and England. He together with all-rounder Stoinis and Billings must make sure that DC end with a flourish.

On the bowling entrance, South African tempo duo of Kagiso Rabada (2020 purple cap winner) and Anrich Nortje has proved to a dream pair, having scalped 52 wickets collectively in 2020.

With Chris Woakes additionally within the combine this time and Ishant Sharma and Umesh Yadav additionally within the ranks, Delhi have choices of their tempo battery.


Delhi’s main weak point will not be having sufficient high quality gamers of their ranks each abroad and residential cricketers. Not having like-for-like replacements is among the weak factors.

It was exactly the rationale they weren’t capable of relaxation Kagiso Rabada and Anrich Nortje. Even by way of wicket-keeping, in case Pant has a niggle they didn’t have alternative. This yr they’ve Vishnu Vinod of Kerala however he’s a inexperienced horn.

Also the Indian quick bowling is fairly weak as their two premier quick bowlers Ishant and Umesh don’t play a lot white ball cricket for the nationwide staff now.

Prithvi Shaw throughout Delhi Capitals’ nets forward of IPL 2021. (Twitter/DelhiCapitals)


Although a giant problem, however it is going to even be an enormous alternative for younger skipper Pant to step out of the shadows of the legendary MS Dhoni by guiding his staff to its maiden title.

The league additionally supplies Pant the chance to organize for the T20 World Cup, the place he shall be an important cog in India’s batting line-up. Dhawan too will look to seal the opening slot, whereas additionally it is an opportunity for R Ashwin and Axar Patel to organize for the ICC occasion.


Pant has displayed resilience and understanding in his brief profession up to now however he must make sure that the added management accountability doesn’t have an effect on his pure attacking intuition as a batsman.

Also, DC’s tempo unit is just too depending on Rabada and Nortje with back-up pacers Ishant and Umesh not boasting of a terrific T20 document.

Last yr, Delhi suffered 4 successive losses after seven wins in first 9 video games, jeopardising their play-off probabilities. They must be cautious of such a stoop and keep away from collapses like final yr.

The Squad:

Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw, Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant , Shimron Hetmyer, Marcus Stoinis, Chris Woakes, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Amit Mishra, Lalit Yadav, Pravin Dubey, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Ishant Sharma, Avesh Khan, Steve Smith, Umesh Yadav, Ripal Patel, Vishnu Vinod, Lukman Meriwala, M Siddarth, Tom Curran, Sam Billings.

Source hyperlink

Related Articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles