South African batsman Temba Bavuma mentioned he had taken his thigh pads off and that it was “sort of too late” to return to the crease when he realized that he had not obtained his bat to ball when he was dismissed caught behind for 71 within the Test towards Sri Lanka earlier this week.
“Yes, that happened,” Bavuma mentioned on the put up match media convention, in response to SuperSport.
The incident, a uncommon present of a batsman strolling with out being out, occurred within the 91st over of the South African first innings of the first Test this week. Bavuma, then on 71, was dealing with Dasun Shanaka. Shanaka bowled a again of a size supply which Bavuma flashed at. There have been appeals, the umpire was unmoved, however the final phrase was had by Bavuma, who determined to stroll off anyway.
“I heard a sound,” Bavuma defined his determination to stroll.
“My first intuition was to stroll after which clearly after I noticed on the highlights, there was daylight between the ball. Yes, that happened,” he mentioned.
— Simran (@CowCorner9) December 28, 2020
“I used to be already off and I already had my thigh pad and pads off, so it was sort of too late by then.”
There has been hypothesis on social media over whether or not the umpires ought to have referred to as Bavuma again.
The method I perceive it – if the umpire gave him out, then they’ll name him again even when he crossed the road. If he walked and the umpire didn’t give it out after which crossed the road, he can’t come again. Very unlucky for Temba. https://t.co/jKXSRLtO3u
— Alviro Petersen (@AlviroPetersen) December 28, 2020
South Africa, however Bavuma’s ‘integrity’, gained the match by an innings and 45 runs.