Chandigarh to get its new Mayor at present

Chandigarh is about to get its new Mayor– almost definitely from the BJP which has a majority within the UT civic physique– with BJP’s Ravi Kant Sharma and Congress’s Devinder Singh Babla in fray.

The elections for the publish of Mayor, Senior Deputy Mayor and Deputy Mayor might be held 11 am. While BJP has fielded Ravi Kant Sharma for Mayor, Mahesh Inder Sidhu for Senior Deputy Mayor and Farmila for Deputy Mayor, the Congress has fielded Devinder Babla for Mayor, Ravinder Gujral for Senior Deputy Mayor and Satish Kainth for Deputy Mayor.

Ahead of the polls, senior BJP leaders met its councillors to reportedly be sure that no cross voting takes place. Incharge of affairs of Punjab and Chandigarh Dushyant Gautam arrived within the metropolis on Thursday and might be current within the viewers gallery to oversee the celebration councillors through the polls. Sources stated that the BJP councillors have been warned that they might lose their ticket for the approaching Municipal elections in case of cross voting.

Three days again, a BJP councillor had introduced his resignation, whereas a insurgent councillor had even filed the nomination for the Mayor publish independently. However, the nomination was rejected on technical grounds. The polls is alleged to be essential for BJP councillor and state Chief Arun Sood as it’s the first Mayoral election after he assumed the cost as BJP UT President.

Congress candidate and chief of opposition Devinder Singh Babla stated, “I can say that I will win and live up to the expectations. If I do not perform, I will resign.”

Meanwhile, within the BJP workplace, ladoos and garlands had been being purchased, reckoning a victory. Furthermore, hoardings with the photographs of BJP Chief Arun Sood and MP Kirron Kher had been additionally put in outdoors Kamlam- the celebration headquarter in Sector 33.

BJP’s official candidate Ravi Kant Sharma has earlier introduced that he is not going to impose any taxes if he’s voted to energy.

Originally from Una district of Himachal Pradesh, Sharma (53) is the councillor from sectors 16, 17 and 22. He was elected as councillor for the primary time in 2016.

A mayor is elected from amongst the elected representatives within the General House. To turn out to be a mayor, a candidate wants 14 votes out of 27.

The 9 nominated councillors shouldn’t have voting rights. One vote is that of MP Kher, who’s the ex-officio member of the House. Of the 26 elected councillors, BJP has a majority with 20 councillors. There are 5 Congress councillors.

Source hyperlink

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles