7 MLAs Who Won Five Times or More Back in Fray

At the least seven legislators who’ve received the Gujarat Meeting elections for 5 or extra instances are searching for a time period once more within the state polls scheduled subsequent month.

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Occasion (BJP) has reposed religion in 5 of the leaders by fielding them for yet one more time period, whereas one has sought to contest as an unbiased.

These 5 candidates fielded by the BJP are Yogesh Patel (Manjalpur seat), Pabubha Manek (Dwarka), Keshu Nakrani (Gariadhar), Purshottam Solanki (Bhavnagar rural) and Pankaj Desai (Nadiad).

Aside from them, Bharatiya Tribal Occasion’s (BTP) founder Chhotu Vasava and Madhu Shrivastav, who has been denied ticket by the BJP, are contesting as unbiased candidates.

These leaders have been in a position to set up a rapport with get together employees and supporters over a long time. The caste equations additionally favour them, however greater than that, it’s their private management qualities that stand them in good stead, political analysts say.

Elections for the 182-member Gujarat Meeting will likely be held in two phases on December 1 and 5 and the counting of votes will likely be taken up on December 8.

Patel, Manek and Vasava have received the Meeting polls seven instances and are contesting for an eighth time period.

Nakrani and Shrivastav have received six elections, and anticipate to win for the seventh time.

Desai and Solanki have received 5 elections and are within the ballot race for the sixth time.

Their expertise of working on the grassroot degree and particular rapport with their get together employees over a long time provides them a definite edge over the others, political analyst from Ahmedabad Shirish Kashikar instructed PTI.

Yogesh Patel, 76, began his profitable streak in 1990 when he contested from Raopura Meeting seat for the Janata Dal.

Although the BJP has stated it won’t give get together ticket to these aged over 75, Patel is the one exception in Gujarat.

At 76, he additionally holds the excellence of being the oldest candidate for the BJP.

He received 5 elections from Raopura earlier than being fielded from Manjalpur, when the brand new seat was shaped in 2012 after delimitation. He received twice from Manjalpur and seeks to win a 3rd one from the seat this time.

Patel had served as a minister of state within the earlier Vijay Rupani authorities.

For Pabubha Manek, the seven-time MLA and BJP’s candidate from Dwarka, his newest tenure as legislator was embroiled in a authorized tussle along with his Meeting membership invalidated over his election affidavit concern.

He was disqualified as an MLA after the Gujarat Excessive Court docket invalidated his election in 2019 and ordered a bypoll.

The Supreme Court docket had refused to grant him any reduction, however directed that the Dwarka Meeting seat shouldn’t be declared vacant.

Earlier, after profitable as an unbiased candidate in 1990, 1995 and 1998, Manek emerged victorious within the 2002 election on the Congress’s ticket. From 2007, he contested because the BJP candidate.

One other veteran within the election enviornment is tribal chief Chhotu Vasava, who first received from Jhagadia seat in Bharuch district because the Janata Dal (JD) candidate in 1990.

He received the subsequent election as an unbiased.

In 1998, he received because the JD candidate earlier than contesting subsequent elections on the Janata Dal (United) ticket.

In 2017, he floated the Bharatiya Tribal Occasion (BTP) which he represented within the election that 12 months and received.

When he was not too long ago changed by his son Mahesh Vasava from the seat as a BTP candidate for the upcoming ballot, his supporters compelled him to file nomination as an unbiased, indicating his sturdy maintain over his supporters.

A number of days again, Mahesh Vasava withdrew his nomination and his father now stands to contest the election as an unbiased, one thing he did in 1995.

Chhotu Vasava had additionally unsuccessfully contested the Lok Sabha election from Bharuch seat 3 times – in 2004, 2009, and 2019.

Madhu Shrivastav, having the picture of a strongman from Vaghodia, can also be not prepared to surrender even because the BJP, the get together he represented for 5 phrases, determined to not area him for the upcoming election.

He’s now contesting as an unbiased candidate.

Shrivastav received his first election as an unbiased, earlier than becoming a member of the BJP and profitable in 1998, 2002, 2007, 2012 and 2017.

Previously, he additionally courted controversies, together with allegedly threatening a witnesses within the Greatest Bakery case after the Godhra riots.

Keshu Nakrani is trying ahead to a victory for the seventh time from Gariadhar seat in Bhavnagar district.

He received because the BJP candidate from 1995 until 2007 from Sihor seat, and in 2012 and 2017 and Gariadhar after the brand new seat got here into existence following delimitation.

Koli group chief Purshottam Solanki is contesting from Bhavnagar rural for a sixth time period.

He represented Ghogho seat in Bhavnagar district 3 times from 1998 until 2007, earlier than the seat was eliminated in delimitation. He then represented Bhavnagar rural seat twice in 2012 and 2017.

He was named in an alleged Rs 400-crore fisheries rip-off relationship again to 2008 when he was the fisheries minister.

Solanki has a robust maintain over the Koli group, which makes up for a large inhabitants of the area.

BJP’s Nadiad MLA Pankaj Desai additionally holds the excellence of profitable 5 consecutive elections since 1998, and being the get together’s chief whip since 2010. This time, he has once more bought the ticket from Nadiad in central Gujarat.

“Most of those candidates have risen from being grassroot employees and their loyalty in direction of the get together has introduced them to the place they’re,” analyst Kashikar stated.

For instance, Yogesh Patel was a BJP employee for the reason that Jana Sangh days and in all these years he by no means switched loyalty regardless of there being phases of battle, he stated.

The rapport these candidates share with their supporters additionally performs an essential function in giving them the invincibility issue that they get pleasure from, he stated.

Learn all of the Latest Politics News right here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *