BJP Sacks 7 Leaders for Filing Nomination as Independent Candidates After Tickets Denied

The Bharatiya Janata Celebration (BJP) on Sunday suspended seven of its leaders for submitting nomination as impartial candidates after they weren’t given tickets to contest the upcoming Gujarat Meeting elections.

The BJP leaders, together with a sitting MLA and 4 former legislators filed nominations on Thursday as independents after being denied tickets by the get together for the subsequent month’s Gujarat Meeting elections. For 89 seats which might go to the polls within the first part, Thursday was the final day for withdrawal of nominations.

Former BJP MLA and the get together’s tribal face Harshad Vasava, who filed his nomination papers every week in the past as an impartial from Nandod in Narmada district, didn’t withdraw his nomination, thus staying within the fray in opposition to the get together’s official candidate.

Arvind Ladani, former BJP MLA from Keshod in Junagadh district, too didn’t pull out of the competition. He was sulking after the get together gave the ticket to current MLA Devabhai Malam for Keshod as an alternative of him. On Thursday, one sitting BJP MLA and two former BJP MLAs additionally filed their nominations as independents for the seats which can go to polls on December 5 within the second part.

Voting for the Gujarat Meeting election will happen in two phases. Polling for first part will happen on December 1 and for the second part on December 5. The counting of votes will happen on December 8, coinciding with that of Himachal Pradesh Meeting election.

Gujarat has a 182 member meeting and the BJP had pulled off its sixth consecutive victory successful 99 seats within the final polls, whereas the Congress put up a spirited combat by bagging 77 seats. In proportion phrases, the BJP had polled 49.05 per cent of the legitimate votes, whereas Congress had polled 42.97 per cent.

Out of the entire constituencies, 142 are common, 17 belong to Scheduled Casts (SC), 23 are Scheduled Tribes (ST).

There might be 4.6 lakh first time voters within the elections this 12 months. There are over 4.9 crore eligible voters in whole. EC will arrange over 51,000 polling stations for voters. Out of those, 34,276 might be arrange in rural areas, whereas 17,506 might be in city areas.

(With PTI inputs)

Learn all of the Latest Politics News right here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *