Congress President Election on October 17; Filing of Nomination to Begin September 24

Ending hypothesis, the Congress on Sunday introduced that elections for its president shall be held on October 17 with the winner being declared two days later, asserting that it’s the solely get together within the nation which undertakes such a democratic train. The get together, which final held the election for the put up in November 2000, has usually confronted criticism from the BJP over dynastic politics because of the management of the Gandhi household over its affairs. Sonia Gandhi is the longest serving get together president and has been on the helm since 1998 barring a two-year interval between 2017-19 when Rahul Gandhi took over.

The schedule of the election was permitted unanimously at a web based assembly of the Congress Working Committee (CWC) which passed off amid a recent upheaval within the get together because of the shock resignation of veteran letter Ghulam Nabi Azad on Friday and his stinging letter to the get together president by which he lashed out at Rahul Gandhi for “demolishing the get together’s whole consultative mechanism”. Azad was a part of the group of 23 dissident leaders who had written to Sonia Gandhi in 2020 looking for large-scale reforms, together with elections in any respect ranges of the organisation.

The web CWC assembly was presided over by Sonia Gandhi, who’s overseas for medical checkups. She was seen flanked by former get together chief Rahul Gandhi and Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, who’re accompanying her overseas. The notification for the election shall be issued on September 22, whereas the submitting of nomination would start on September 24 and proceed until September 30, the get together’s central election authority chairman Madhusudan Mistry informed reporters after an almost 30-minute assembly of the CWC.

The date of scrutiny of the nomination papers can be October 1, whereas the final date of withdrawal of nominations can be October 8. The election, if there may be a couple of candidate, will happen on October 17, whereas counting of votes, if obligatory, and the counting of votes and the declaration of outcomes can be on October 19, Mistry stated.

“The election schedule that was put ahead by Mistry, all CWC members unanimously permitted it with out elevating any questions or demanding an extension of dates,” the get together’s Basic Secretary Jairam Ramesh stated. The Congress had introduced in October final 12 months that the election of the brand new get together president shall be held between August 21 and September 20 this 12 months.

Sources had stated earlier stated that the election of the Congress president is more likely to be delayed by a number of weeks with the get together targeted on the Kanyakumari to Kashmir ‘Bharat Jodo Yatra’ beginning September 7 and a few state items not finishing formalities. “Congress is the one get together by which elections at numerous ranges and particularly for the put up of the president have taken place, will happen and preserve happening,” Ramesh stated.

Addressing the press convention together with Mistry and Ramesh, AICC common secretary organisation Okay C Venugopal stated the CWC reiterated its resolve to make the Mehangai Par Halla Bol rally in New Delhi on September 4th and the launch of the Bharat Jodo Yatra from Kanyakumari on September seventh and its continuation thereafter a convincing success. The CWC prolonged its greatest needs to Congress President Sonia Gandhi for a full and speedy restoration, he stated.

Requested about leaders being busy with Bharat Jodo Yatra and if voting for them can be a problem, Venugopal stated preparations can be made to make sure that all delegates can solid their votes with none drawback. The assembly of CWC passed off simply two days after Azad’s resignation. The Congress, coping with the fallout of a collection of high-profile exits, together with that of Kapil Sibal and Ashwani Kumar, has tried to deflect the most recent blow by alleging that Azad’s DNA had been “Modi-fied” and linking his resignation to the tip of his Rajya Sabha tenure.

Amongst these current on the assembly have been Anand Sharma, who was a part of the G-23, former prime minister Manmohan Singh, get together’s central election authority chairman Madhusudan Mistry, Okay C Venugopal, former union ministers Jairam Ramesh, Mukul Wasnik and P Chidambaram and Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot alongside together with his Chhattisgarh counterpart Bhupesh Baghel. The assembly comes amid a number of leaders, together with Gehlot, having publicly exhorted Rahul Gandhi to return because the get together chief. Nonetheless, uncertainty and suspense proceed on the problem. A number of get together insiders say Rahul Gandhi is persisting together with his stance that he is not going to be the AICC president.

Gehlot on Wednesday had sought to minimize studies about him being the frontrunner for the Congress president’s put up and stated efforts shall be made until the final minute to influence Rahul Gandhi to take over the reins of the get together once more. Former Maharashtra chief minister Prithviraj Chavan on Sunday cautioned that the Congress is not going to survive if somebody is made a “puppet president”.

On the discussions associated to the names of Gehlot and another leaders for the put up of Congress president, Chavan requested if the president’s title shall be determined earlier than the election. “Why are you taking the reverse path? You’ll verify the title prematurely after which conduct elections, does this ever occur? Maintain elections, whoever has to battle, will battle,” stated the Congress chief who’s a part of the G-23.

“If backseat driving continues by making a puppet president, then the get together will be unable to outlive,” he warned. Gehlot’s assembly with Sonia Gandhi triggered the excitement that the 2 could have mentioned the opportunity of him being the subsequent get together president.

Rahul Gandhi had resigned as Congress president after the get together suffered its second consecutive defeat in parliamentary elections in 2019. Sonia Gandhi who took over the reins of the get together once more as interim president had additionally supplied to give up in August 2020 after an open revolt by a bit of leaders, known as G-23, however the CWC had urged her to proceed.

Within the final election in 2000, Jitendra Prasada had misplaced to Sonia Gandhi. Earlier than that Sitaram Kesri had defeated Sharad Pawar and Rajesh Pilot in 1997.


Learn all of the Latest Politics News and Breaking News right here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *