List of Non-Gandhi Chiefs at Helm Since 1947

It’s a D-Day for Congress who will vote right this moment within the historic election to choose the successor of Sonia Gandhi who led the get together for round 20 years. Congress veteran Mallikarjun Kharge will tackle Thiruvanthapuram MP Shashi Tharoor within the first election for the highest publish within the get together in 22 years. The final ballot came about in November 2000 when Sonia Gandhi defeated Jitendra Prasada by a giant margin.

It might be the sixth time in its almost 137-year-old historical past that an electoral contest would determine who would take up the mantle of the get together’s president.

“That is truly the sixth time that the Congress is having inner elections for its president in its 137-year-history. The media has highlighted 1939, 1950, 1997 and 2000. Actually, there had been elections too in 1977 when Kasu Brahmananda Reddy was elected,” Congress normal secretary in-charge communications Jairam Ramesh informed PTI.

Within the historical past of over 130-year-old get together, Sonia Gandhi stays the longest serving get together president. She took over get together’s management from Sitaram Kesri following the 1998 Lok Sabha polls and has been on the helm since then barring a two-year interval between 2017-19 when Rahul Gandhi grew to become Congress president.

The polling for the Congress presidential election can be held on October 17. The counting of votes can be taken up on October 19 and the outcomes can be declared the identical day. Greater than 9,000 Pradesh Congress Committee (PCC) delegates will vote within the ballot.

Tharoor, a former diplomat, has promised to deliver adjustments within the get together and stated leaders like Kharge can’t deliver change and can proceed the system. Alternatively, Kharge stated there’s a struggle in opposition to the RSS and the BJP however not amongst ourselves and added he would implement Udaipur declaration if elected.

As a non-Gandhi household chief is ready to steer the grand-old-party, right here’s a take a look at these leaders who didn’t come from Gandhi-Nehru household background however served as get together presidents thus far since India’s independence.


The Congress was being led by J B Kripalani when the nation achieved its freedom from the British rule. Popularly referred to as Acharya Kripalani, the chief was concerned in get together’s affairs in a number of actions for nation’s independence. The four-time Lok Sabha MP later left the get together to kind the Kisan Majdoor Praja Celebration.


Sitaramayya entered within the Congress presidential contest with the assist of then Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru in 1948 and emerged victorious. Sitaramayya was the Governor of Madhya Pradesh from 1952-57. He was one of many outstanding leaders who demanded for the separate state of Andhra Pradesh.


In 1950, Tandon claimed the highest publish after successful the battle in opposition to Kripalani. Years later, he resigned from his publish reportedly over variations with Nehru.

U N DHEBAR (1955-59)

After Nehru’s first stint as Congress president, Dhebar took over the reins of the get together and remained on the helm for 4 years. He additionally served the Chief Minister of Saurashtra from 1948-54.


Reddy succeeded Indira Gandhi as Congress president in 1960. Nevertheless, he left the politics and resigned from the get together in 1967. He was additionally the sixth President of India.

Ok KAMARAJ (1964-67)

In accordance with studies, Indira’s rise as Congress president couldn’t turn into doable because of Kamaraj. Popularly referred to as “kingmaker”, Kamaraj, a Syndicate chief, shaped the Congress (O) after the cut up with Indira Gandhi-led Congress.


Nijalingappa was the final president of the undivided Congress get together earlier than its cut up. Nevertheless, he joined the Syndicate leaders.

JAGJIVAN RAM (1970-71)

Jagjivan Ram served because the president of India Gandhi-led Congress. After the emergency, he left the Congress in 1977 to hitch the Janata Celebration. He additionally based his personal get together Congress (J) in 1981. In the course of the 1971 India-Pakistan struggle, he served because the defence minister of India.


Sharma took over because the president of Congress through the AICC session in Calcutta (Kolkata) in 1972. He was the President of India from 1992 to 1997.


Barua was main the Congress as get together president through the emergency. He was considered one of Indira Gandhi’s staunch supporters and is remembered for his proclamation “India is Indira, Indira is India”.


Following Rajiv Gandhi’s assassination, Rao grew to become the Congress president in 1992. He was additionally the primary prime minister from a non-Hindi talking area.


In 1996, Kesri grew to become the president of Congress. His time period noticed the exit of a number of senior get together leaders and defeat in 1998 Lok Sabha elections.

Learn all of the Latest Politics News and Breaking News right here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *