‘I bet Messi 100 Euros that it won’t be a penalty’. It was. ‘I am not going to pay him; he has enough!’ Poland goalkeeper Szczesny’s unusual bet with Messi

When Lionel Messi twisted and spun on the bottom to say a penalty after Poland’s goalkeeper Wojciech Szczesny’s hand grazed his face whereas saving a shot, the referee would rush to seek the advice of the VAR display. Within the center, Szczesny would have a wager with Messi that it received’t be a penalty.

“I advised would wager him €100 that he [referee] wasn’t going to present it,” Szczesny advised TV2. “So I’ve misplaced a wager towards Messi.” The Dutch referee Danny Makkelie would award a penalty.

“I don’t know if that’s allowed on the World Cup — I’m in all probability going to get banned for it! However I don’t care proper now,” stated Szczesny, who would save that penalty, diving to his left, and punching the ball along with his elevate proper first.

Will he pay Messi 100 Euros although? “I’m not going to pay him both — he doesn’t care about €100 I believe he has sufficient.”

It was his second penalty save of the event. “I used to be lucky twice this competitors,” he advised RAI Sport. “It’s an important second within the profession of a participant, the World Cup is the utmost and that is particular. There’s a bit of labor that goes into it, too, however with a view to save a Messi penalty, you want some luck as effectively.”

Poland’s goalkeeper Wojciech Szczesny saves the ball through the World Cup group C soccer match between Poland and Argentina.

It was across the thirty sixth minute mark within the sport. The Polish goalie had punched a shot from Julian Alvarez and when he backtracked to pouch the rebound shot, his hand would brush Messi’s face.

“The penalty determination is disgraceful,” the England defender Rio Ferdinand lashed out on BBC. “This isn’t what VAR has been introduced in for. He’s flicked his eyelash for starters and the truth that the ref goes over to take a look at it… I believe that’s an outrageous determination that has been made right here. He barely touches him.”

Fellow commentator Alan Shearer too agreed: “That’s by no means a penalty.”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *