Julius Baer Cup: Indian GMs Arjun Erigaisi and R Praggnanandhaa sail to quarterfinals

Teenaged Indian Grandmasters Arjun Erigaisi and R Praggnanandhaa moved to the quarterfinals after ending second and fourth respectively within the preliminary section of the Julius Baer Technology Cup on-line speedy chess match early on Thursday.

Whereas World Champion Magnus Carlsen completed with 34 factors, method forward of the second-placed Erigaisi, who had 25 factors, American Hans Niemann took the third spot with 24 factors.

Praggnanandhaa, who made a robust begin with three victories on day 1, ended up with 23 factors. His tally included 5 wins, eight attracts and two defeats.

Carlsen was in stupendous kind, successful his final 5 video games together with three on the ultimate day of the preliminaries to finish with 10 victories.

His solely loss was to Niemann, towards whom he resigned after making just one transfer.

The 19-year-old Erigaisi endured a poor ultimate day, dropping to Vincent Keymer (Germany) and Dutch GM Anish Giri after starting with a draw towards Radoslaw Wojtaszek of Poland.

However regardless of a forgettable day, the Indian GM managed to complete second. He scored seven wins together with 4 attracts and 4 losses.

The 17-year outdated Praggnanandhaa, however, began the day with a defeat by the hands of USA’s Levon Aronian earlier than settling for a draw towards Giri. His win over Croatia’s Ivan Saric within the fifteenth and ultimate spherical enabled him to complete some extent behind Niemann on 23 together with Keymer.

Baskaran Adhiban, the third Indian within the match, completed sixteenth and final with a solitary win to go together with seven attracts and an equal variety of losses. He secured 10 factors.

The quarterfinals are scheduled to be performed late on Thursday.

The Julius Baer Technology Cup is part of the Meltwater Champions Chess Tour and options 16 gamers spanning three generations and is being held in a round-robin-cum-knockout format.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.