West Zone annexes Duleep Trophy with big win over South

West Zone thrashed South Zone by 294 runs to win the 2022 Duleep Trophy right here on Sunday, finishing the formalities earlier than lunch on the fifth and final day’s play.

Set an unbelievable goal of 529 runs for an outright win, South Zone have been bowled out for 234 in 71.2 overs, with left-arm Shams Mulani (4 for 51) choosing up three of the 4 wickets to fall on the ultimate day.

Resuming at 154 for six, South batters Ravi Teja and R Sai Kishore defied the West assault for practically two hours. A lot of the South Zone’s skilled batters failed and fell to the tempo duo of Atit Sheth and Jaydev Unadkat on the fourth night, leaving the group in a hopeless scenario.

Teja (53) batted with resolve and was properly supported by lanky Sai Kishore, who stored the bowlers at bay for 82 deliveries for his seven.

The duo added 57 runs in 157 deliveries, dealing with the West bowlers with circumspection. Whereas Teja acquired three boundaries and hit a six, Kishore was content material in defending and spending time within the center.

Medium-pacer Chintan Gaja broke by means of with the rating at 203 when he had Kishore caught by Priyank Panchal.

Karnataka off-spinner Ok Gowtham who joined Teja made certain the West bowlers have been made to work onerous for extra success. They added 23 runs and threatened to increase the sport previous the lunch break.

Mulani trapped Ravi Teja leg earlier than wicket after he had scored a half-century.

Basil Thampi (0) was the following to go, caught by Sarfaraz Khan off Mulani earlier than Tanush Kotian had Gowtham (17) to finish South’s resistance.

West Zone had amassed 585 for 4 earlier than declaring of their second innings after conceding a 57-run first-innings result in their opponents.

Prolific run-scorer Sarfaraz Khan recorded a high quality, unbeaten century (127 off 178 balls) whereas Yashasvi Jaiswal made a monumental 265 within the second innings to assist set the sport up for the Ajinkya Rahane-led West Zone.

Kerala Opener Rohan Kunnummal waged a lone battle, scoring 93, in South’s second innings.

In the meantime, West captain Rahane determined to ask Jaiswal to depart the sphere after opposition batsman Teja complained of sledging, which had led to a few warnings.

“The way in which everybody contributed was magnificent. Simply seeking to play one recreation at a time, not pondering an excessive amount of for the longer term. Excited concerning the season forward, first full season after Covid, wanting ahead to taking part in for Mumbai,” successful captain Rahane mentioned.

The Duleep Trophy returned to the zonal format this season after an experiment with three groups for a couple of years.

“I believe zonal cricket is essential for these gamers who’ve been doing properly for his or her states – Ranji Trophy, Irani Trophy and Duleep Trophy are essential for selecting out Take a look at cricketers for India sooner or later,” Rahane added.

Temporary Scores: West Zone 270 and 585/4 declared in 128 overs (Yashasvi Jaiswal 265, Shreyas Iyer 71, Sarfaraz Khan 127; R Sai Kishore 2/157, Ok Gowtham 2/235) beat South Zone 327 and 234 in 71.2 overs (Rohan Kunnummal 93; Ravi Teja 53, Shams Mulani 4/51, Jaydev Unadkat 2/28, Atit Sheth 2/29).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *