Why did 3rd umpire Chris Gaffaney call what would have been the last ball of the Bangladesh-Zimbabwe game a no-ball?

Bangladesh had already celebrated a slender win and had walked off the sector.

On replays checking for the stumping of Blessing Muzarabani off Mosaddek Hossain, wicketkeeper Nurul Hasan was seen to have collected the balll earlier than it had handed the stumps.

Here’s what the legislation states:

27.3 Place of wicket-keeper

27.3.1 The wicket-keeper shall stay wholly behind the wicket on the striker’s finish from the second the ball comes into play till a ball delivered by the bowler touches the bat or particular person of the striker or passes the wicket on the striker’s finish or the striker makes an attempt a run.

27.3.2 Within the occasion of the wicket-keeper contravening this Regulation, the striker’s finish umpire shall name and sign No ball as quickly as relevant after the supply of the ball.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *