Congress Puducherry govt falls, BJP, ADMK weigh options

MARKING THE finish of the one Congress authorities within the south, with about three months left for polls, Puducherry Chief Minister V Narayanasamy and his Council of Ministers submitted their resignations on Monday to L-G Tamilisai Soundararajan quickly after a Motion of Confidence was defeated within the Assembly.

The results of the ground take a look at, which was referred to as 4 days in the past by the L-G, was on anticipated traces with the ruling Congress-DMK coalition dropping majority with a spate of resignations over the past month, together with two on Sunday, and decreased to 12 in a 33-member House with a present energy of 26.

But Narayanasamy remained defiant, holding discussions with Cabinet colleagues and MLAs within the Assembly advanced earlier than coming into the House, and eventually main his get together in a walkout towards three nominated BJP MLAs being allowed to solid their votes. Within a minute, Speaker V P Sivakolandhu declared that the arrogance movement had been defeated.

Senior leaders of the Opposition alliance of NR Congress-AIADMK-BJP mentioned they’d take a look at the choice of forming a authorities solely after holding discussions amongst allies.

During the Assembly proceedings in Puducherry at present

Before the walkout, the Narayanasamy delivered an hour-long speech wherein he described “the strategies of the BJP” to topple his authorities as “nothing but political prostitution”, and mentioned that those that had abandoned the coalition could be referred to as “opportunists” by voters.

Later, chatting with The Indian Express at his residence in Puducherry city, Narayansamy accused the BJP of luring his ministers and MLAs. “They did that to ensure a caretaker government in Puducherry during the polls,” he alleged.

“They wanted to topple my government using the same tactics they used in Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Goa, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh. And they were using the money power, using the Enforcement Directorate, CBI and central agencies against our MLAs. They lured our MLAs with money. That is how they succeeded to get support from some of the ministers and MLAs from our side. But we will fight it out,” he mentioned.

Responding to the allegations, V Saminathan, who’s the BJP state president and one of many nominated MLAs, mentioned: “All of these charges are false. The BJP had no role to play in the fall of this government. It was a highly corrupt government and collapsed on its own due to mismanagement and poor governance. If BJP was the reason, why did their Health Minister and senior leader Malladi Krishna Rao resign? Why did they disqualify an MLA last year itself? This government lost the majority because it was a failure.”

V Narayanasamy strolling out of the Assembly (Twitter/Arun Janardhan)

The ruling coalition misplaced seven MLAs, together with 5 from the Congress and one from DMK who resigned prior to now one month whereas one other Congress MLA was disqualified in July 2020 for anti-party actions.

With the resignation of the federal government, the energy of the Assembly is 15, together with seven MLAs of NR Congress, 4 of AIADMK, three nominated MLAs of BJP and an impartial MLA who had supported the ruling coalition.

Asked how the Congress had misplaced its senior ministers, Narayanasamy mentioned: “I had trust in them, and they betrayed that trust. It happens in politics, nothing new in it. Anyway, the people of Puducherry will teach them a lesson in the elections (scheduled to be held in April-May).”

In his speech earlier, Narayanasamy spoke at size in regards to the achievements of his administration over the past 5 years and mentioned that his coalition had confronted a number of hurdles from the Centre and the previous L-G Kiran Bedi.

The flooring take a look at was referred to as by Tamilsai Soundararajan, the Telangana Governor, quickly after she took cost. On Monday, there was a tense ambiance on the Assembly earlier than it convened at 10 am with hypothesis that the Congress would unveil a technique to expel some Opposition MLAs and keep majority.

Soon after the Chief Minister completed his speech, authorities whip R Ok R Anantharaman raised the problem of voting rights of three nominated legislators belonging to the BJP. He demanded a clarification from the Speaker, triggering a heated argument with the Opposition. Minutes later, Narayanasamy and his MLAs staged a walkout.

Later, the Chief Minister and MLAs of the ruling alliance left for Raj Nivas the place they handed over their resignation letters to Soundararajan.

Source hyperlink

Related Articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles