Leaders from all walks in PM-led panel to mark 75 years of freedom

The authorities issued a gazette notification late on Friday night, asserting a high-level nationwide committee to commemorate 75 years of Independence, to be chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

The 259-member committee, which incorporates Union Ministers, Governors, Chief Ministers, and eminent residents from all walks of life, “will provide policy direction and guidelines for formulation of programmes for the commemoration of 75th anniversary of Indian Independence at national and international levels”, the Ministry of Culture mentioned in a press release.

On the committee are former President Pratibha Patil, Chief Justice of India S A Bobde, Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla, greater than a dozen Ministers together with Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh, Nirmala Sitharaman, Nitin Gadkari, Narendra Singh Tomar, Ravi Shankar Prasad, and Smriti Irani, all Chief Ministers, Governors, and Lieutenant Governors.

Chief of Defence Staff Gen Bipin Rawat and the Chiefs of all wings of the armed forces are on the committee, apart from leaders from throughout the political spectrum — L Ok Advani, Sonia Gandhi, Ghulam Nabi Azad, Mayawati, Mulayam Singh Yadav, M Ok Stalin, Sitaram Yechury, and so on.

Also on the panel are sportspersons M S Dhoni, Prakash Padukone, P V Sindhu, and Abhinav Bindra; religious leaders similar to Sadhguru Jaggi Vasudev, Swami Ramdev, and Sayyed Zainul Abedin; artistes Dilip Kumar, A R Rahman, Rajinikanth and Amitabh Bachchan; and enterprise leaders Ratan Tata, Nandan Nilekani, and Bhupinder Singh Minhas.

Archaeologists B B Lal and Ok Ok Mohammad are additionally on the panel. Culture Secretary Raghvendra Singh is the Member-Secretary of the committee, whose time period begins with speedy impact, and can proceed “until further orders”.

“The celebrations to mark this historic occasion will start 75 weeks before the day, and go on till August 15, 2023, during which the committee will meet several times to invite suggestions and recommendations from its members, which include Bharat Ratnas, and represent all walks of life,” Singh mentioned.

Seventy 5 years of Independence – on August 15, 2022 – can be celebrated as Azadi Ka Amrut Mahotsav. The celebrations are proposed to be launched 75 weeks previous to the date, that’s, on March 12 this yr. The day additionally marks the 91st anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi’s historic salt satyagraha. Modi will launch the Mahotsav from Gujarat on March 12.

During the celebrations, the Centre may even organise exhibitions on the lives of freedom fighters, together with Gandhi, Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel and Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose.

The first assembly of the High Level Committee can be convened on March 8.

Source hyperlink

Related Articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles